The well-known forester, H.R. MacMillan, donated the 136 hectares of land in 1944 for the perpetual enjoyment of the public in recognition of the unique stand of trees. The area was established as a provincial park three years later, and expanded in size in the Spring of 2005.
Some trees in this park are at least 800 years old.

Provincial Parks site

Map reproduced from above site